Published September 30, 2026
What Must an Amazon Multipack or Bundle Main Image Show?
Amazon staff say a multipack main image must show the total quantity the customer will receive, with the product in its packaging. The title must state the same total, as "x pack" or "x count". A bundle of different products follows Amazon's bundling policy instead: the main image shows the specific products in the bundle, nothing excluded from it, and no representative or similar products. If the image and title disagree on the count, fix one before you upload.
Amazon's own page on this, Multipack imaging standards, sits behind the Seller Central login, so we could not read its wording. The rules below come from a 2024 Amazon staff post in the Seller Forums that links to that page, and from Amazon's bundling policy. This post also covers what Walmart publishes, and a trap that AI images add: generators and listing scrapers can get the unit count wrong. So you state the pack count in the brief, and you count the units in every render.
What must a multipack main image show on Amazon?
Amazon staff say a multipack main image must show the total quantity the customer will receive, with the product in its packaging. Amazon's help page on the subject, Multipack imaging standards, requires a Seller Central login, so we could not read it directly. Amazon staff have set the rules out in public. In a Listings Lounge post in the Seller Forums dated 30 October 2024, Michelle_Amazon lists them and links that help page for its examples, "as well as the full policy around this topic".
The packaging requirement is the part that differs from the general rule. Amazon's general main image standard, as a seller quoted it in a March 2023 forum thread, says main images "must show products outside of their packaging" unless the packaging is "an important product feature". Our main image rejection guide lists a product shown inside its packaging as a rejection reason. For a multipack, the staff post asks for the packaging instead, because it "provides content information to the customer". The same post says the main image is "for the product only with no extras", so assume the other general main image rules still apply. That guide covers them, so we do not repeat them here.
The staff post defines multi-packs as "multiple items packaged together or large quantities of identical items". These are its four requirements, quoted exactly:
- "The main image must show the total quantity that will be delivered to the customer."
- "The main image must show the product in the packaging as this provides content information to the customer."
- "Product titles must contain the total quantity (x pack or x count)."
- "Ensure the image and product title do not conflict in a way that could cause confusion for the customer."
How should a bundle of different products be photographed?
An Amazon bundle main image must include the specific products in the bundle, all of them, and nothing the buyer will not receive. Amazon's Product Bundling Policy says: "The main image for the bundle must include the specific products in the bundle (and must not include any items that are excluded from the bundle). Images of representative or similar products are not permitted." We read that wording in a copy of the policy that Amazon hosts as a PDF on its own media server, m.media-amazon.com. The document itself carries no date, and its file metadata shows it was created in September 2021. It mentions "SG categories", so it appears to come from Amazon's Singapore store. The US help page for the policy requires a Seller Central login, so we could not compare the two.
Check first that your product is a bundle at all. The policy defines bundles as "multiple single items that can each be identified by a unique ASIN/UPC", sold together as one offering. A pre-packaged kit or pack identified by a single ASIN/UPC is not a bundle. The policy also says: "If an item is a multi-pack, such as six pairs of socks, list it as a single product and not as a bundle." A bundle title must include the word "Bundle" and the number of items. Feature Bullet 1 must say the product is a bundle of X items and name them.
The 2024 staff post adds a third type, the variety multi-pack: "products containing multiples of different products packaged together". It takes the same rules as a multipack. The main image shows the total quantity in its packaging, and the title states the total.
Consumables carry an extra condition in the US store. Amazon announced that from 14 October 2024, consumables bundles in grocery, pet, baby, and health and beauty could only be created and offered by the original manufacturer. A December 2024 note from Amazon reworded the rule: bundles "must be product configurations packaged by the original manufacturer or brand", unless a brand owner or manufacturer gives you a Letter of Authorization to repackage. If your consumables bundle is not allowed, no main image will fix it.
| Listing type | How Amazon defines it | Main image must show | Title must state | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Multipack | "Multiple items packaged together or large quantities of identical items" | The total quantity delivered, in its packaging | The total quantity, as x pack or x count | Amazon staff Listings Lounge post, 30 Oct 2024. The Multipack imaging standards page requires a login |
| Variety multipack | "Products containing multiples of different products packaged together" | The total quantity delivered, in its packaging | The total quantity, as x pack or x count | The same staff post |
| Bundle | "Multiple single items that can each be identified by a unique ASIN/UPC", sold as one offering | The specific products in the bundle, nothing excluded, no representative or similar products | The word Bundle and the number of items | Product Bundling Policy, Amazon-hosted PDF. The US help page requires a login |
| Pre-packaged kit or pack with one ASIN/UPC | Not a bundle, per the bundling policy | Not stated in any Amazon page we could read. It fits the multipack definition, so we follow the multipack rules | Not stated in any Amazon page we could read. We follow the multipack rules | Bundling policy for the definition. The image and title cells are our reading |
What happens when the title and the image show different quantities?
When the title and the image show different quantities, the shopper cannot tell what they are buying, and Amazon staff link that confusion to returns and A-to-z Guarantee claims. The 2024 staff post says getting multipack images right helps "you avoid returns or A to Z claims". For bundles, the PDF copy of the bundling policy says that not following it "may result in removal without notice of any bundled product listing, account suspension, or both". We found no Amazon page we could read that names a specific penalty for a count mismatch on a multipack.
The staff post gives two examples of a title and an image that conflict. In the first, the title reads "Wrigley's Doublemint Chewing Gum 5-count (40 packs)". The post says the "5-count" leaves the shopper unsure whether they get 5 packages of 40, or whether the 5 count refers to the individual packs. Its fix: the title must only carry "40 packs".
In the second, the box in the product image says "12 packs" while the title says "48 cookie packs". The listing is four packages of 12, which the shopper only finds out from the other images on the detail page. The post's fix is an image showing all four packages. It admits that image "does not look captivating", and says it "would have created a consistent message with the title". It also offers one package with the title showing 48 cookie packs as another option. We find that hard to square with its own rule that the main image shows the total quantity. Show all four and the question never comes up.
The mismatch can also start on Amazon's side. In a May 2026 post in Amazon's European Seller Forums, a seller reported that Amazon's rollout of automatically created multipack listings had changed the main images on about 10 of their single-unit listings to multipack images. An Amazon moderator replied that the images were "displaying as expected". That is one seller's report, not documented behaviour. It is still a reason to check your single-unit listings, as well as your multipacks, whenever Amazon creates packs from your products. The first two rows below are Amazon's examples. The other three are illustrations of our own.
| Title says | Main image shows | What goes wrong | Fix |
|---|---|---|---|
| Amazon's example: "5-count (40 packs)" | The post does not describe it. The problem is in the title | Two counts in one title, so the shopper cannot tell which is the total | The title states "40 packs" only |
| Amazon's example: "48 cookie packs" | A box printed "12 packs" | The image suggests 12, while the listing ships four boxes of 12 | Show all four boxes, so the image matches the title |
| Illustration: "6 Pack" | One bottle | The image shows less than the shopper receives | Show all six bottles in the packaging they ship in |
| Illustration: "Pack of 3" | Four units, or three units plus an item that does not ship | The image shows more than the shopper receives | Show three units and remove anything that does not ship |
| Illustration: a single unit | A multipack | The shopper expects several units and receives one | Use a single-unit image, and check again after Amazon creates packs for you |
Does Walmart treat multipacks the same way?
Walmart requires images to match the quantity delivered, but we found no Walmart page with an image rule written for multipacks. Walmart's Product details policy, in the version dated 21 May 2026, says: "All claims, images and descriptions must match the actual product delivered, including size, color, quantity, materials/ingredients, features, benefits and limitations." Its title rules allow values that describe key attributes, and the examples include "4 count".
Walmart's image guidelines, in the version dated 12 May 2026, add two lines that bear on packs. The first is "All images should correspond with key attributes in the product name". We read that as: a count in the name should show up in the pictures. The second is "The main image can't show accessories that aren't included with the item, as it may confuse the customer."
Walmart's own bundle and pack tools are invitation-only. Its guide to virtual bundles, dated 9 September 2026, says: "Use a primary image that represents all items included in the bundle so customers can clearly view what they're purchasing." It also tells you to include the word Bundle in the bundle name. Its guide to virtual packs, dated 4 August 2026, lists a recommended main image URL field for "an image that represents the virtual pack". That same virtual packs page says virtual bundles "currently aren't available on Walmart.com". The newer bundles guide suggests that has changed, at least for invited sellers. Walmart Canada's page on multi-packs covers Product IDs only: use the ID that applies to the entire pack, not the ID of the individual items in it.
We could not find a Flipkart page that sets a multipack image rule, so this post does not cover Flipkart. If you plan to reuse Amazon images on Walmart, our post on what transfers between the two covers the wider differences.
| Question | Amazon | Walmart |
|---|---|---|
| Must the main image show the total quantity? | Yes, per the 2024 staff post | Images must match the quantity delivered (Product details policy). No multipack-specific image rule found |
| Should a multipack main image show the packaging? | Yes, per the 2024 staff post | Not stated in any Walmart page we found |
| Does the title carry the count? | Required, as x pack or x count | Allowed as a key attribute value, for example 4 count |
| What does a bundle main image show? | The specific products in the bundle, nothing excluded | An image that represents all items included, per the virtual bundles guide |
| Does a bundle title say Bundle? | Yes, with the number of items | Yes, for virtual bundles |
| Can the image show items that do not ship? | No. A bundle main image must not include excluded items, and the staff post says the main image is for the product only with no extras | The main image can't show accessories that aren't included |
Why does AI get the number of units wrong?
AI gets unit counts wrong because an image model draws a plausible picture of what you asked for, and an exact count is one of the details it can miss. Researchers who studied the problem in text-to-image diffusion models in 2024 opened their abstract by saying that "controlling the number of depicted objects using text is surprisingly hard". That paper predates the models sellers use now, so read it as background, not as a measurement of any current tool. In a multipack, though, the count is the point of the picture, so treat it as something you check rather than something you trust.
The errors are easy to miss because the image still looks right. A render can add a unit, hide one behind another, merge two into one shape, or cut one off at the edge of the frame. It can also print a count on the rendered pack that differs from the count you sell. Some of these are hard to see at thumbnail size, so review each image at full size.
The second source of error sits before the model. A listing page carries several numbers: the pack count, the count inside each unit, the net weight or volume, and the sizes of other variants in the menu. Amazon's own gum example shows two counts in one title. A scraper or an AI analysis step that reads the page can pick the wrong number and pass it into the prompt. The model then draws the wrong count faithfully, and checking the image against the prompt will not catch it.
So the fix starts with what you tell the tool. State the pack count as a number in the brief, and describe each unit separately from the pack. Then count the units in every render yourself.
How do you check a multipack image before upload?
Check a multipack image by counting the units in every render by hand, then comparing that count with your title, the count printed on the pack and what you actually ship. Do it at full size, not in a thumbnail grid. It is slow, and it catches errors from both the model and the data behind the prompt.
Run this list on each multipack or bundle main image, whether it is a photo or AI-generated:
- Write the pack count as a number in the brief, for example "exactly 3 bottles in the outer carton", and describe each unit separately from the pack.
- Give the tool a photo of the real pack, so it has the packaging you ship to work from.
- Count every unit in the render, including units partly hidden behind others.
- Read every number printed on the rendered pack, such as the count and the net weight, and compare each one with the real pack.
- Check that the title states the same total, once, as x pack or x count.
- For a bundle, tick off each item in the image against your bundle list, and remove anything that does not ship.
- Recount after every regeneration or edit, because a change made for another reason can change the count.
- If a render will not get the count right, use a real photo of the pack as the main image.
Can Picmato help with multipack images?
Picmato generates listing images, the main image included, but the count check stays with you. It imports a listing from Amazon, Walmart, Flipkart or Meesho and analyses the product before it generates anything. For packs of 2 to 6, the main image is asked to show the pack count your listing states; check it before uploading. Per-shot briefs are editable before generation, so you can write the exact unit count into the main image brief yourself. Its gallery coverage read looks at the images you already have and marks nine purposes, bundle contents among them, as covered, weak or missing, on a best-effort basis. Shots the product data cannot evidence are not offered. Nothing in Picmato counts the units in the finished image, and you remain responsible for what your listing shows.
Frequently asked questions
Does an Amazon multipack main image have to show every unit?
Yes. Amazon staff say the main image must show the total quantity that will be delivered to the customer, so a 6-pack main image shows six units. The rule appears in a 2024 Listings Lounge post that links Amazon's Multipack imaging standards page, which requires a Seller Central login. The title must state the same total, as x pack or x count, and the image and title must not conflict.
Should a multipack main image show the packaging on Amazon?
Yes, according to Amazon staff. Their 2024 Listings Lounge post says a multipack main image must show the product in the packaging, because the packaging tells the customer what is inside. That differs from Amazon's general main image standard, which asks for products outside their packaging unless the packaging is an important product feature. Assume the other general main image rules still apply.
Can I use a single-unit photo as the main image for a multipack?
Not under the guidance Amazon staff have published. A single-unit photo shows one unit while the customer receives several, which is the conflict between image and title that the 2024 staff post tells sellers to avoid. Photograph or generate the full pack as it ships, count the units, and keep the single-unit image for the single-unit listing.
What must an Amazon bundle title and main image show?
In the copy of Amazon's Product Bundling Policy we could read, the title must include the word Bundle and the number of items. Feature Bullet 1 must say the product is a bundle of X items and name them. The main image must include the specific products in the bundle and must not include anything excluded from it. Images of representative or similar products are not permitted.
Can AI generate an Amazon multipack main image?
An image model can draw one, but exact counts are a known weak spot, and the listing data behind the prompt can carry the wrong number. If you use a generated image, state the pack count in the brief, count the units in every render and compare the result with the real pack. Whether AI images suit your listing at all is covered in our post on whether AI product images are allowed.
Does Walmart require the main image to show the pack quantity?
Walmart has no image rule written for multipacks that we could find. Its Product details policy says all claims, images and descriptions must match the actual product delivered, including quantity. Its image guidelines say images should correspond with key attributes in the product name. For virtual bundles, which are invitation-only, its guide says to use a primary image that represents all items included in the bundle.
Related on Picmato
Sources
- Amazon Seller Central Help, "Multipack imaging standards" (G94GSFMC79RSLDBY). Requires a Seller Central login; logged out, it serves the Seller Central home page, so its wording was not read directly
- Amazon Seller Forums, "Listings Lounge: A Festive Unwrapping: Mastering Multi-Pack Imagery to Delight Shoppers This Holiday Season", a 2024 Listings Lounge staff forum post by Michelle_Amazon, 30 October 2024 (forum post, links the Multipack imaging standards page)
- Amazon, "Product Bundling Policy", PDF hosted on Amazon's media server (m.media-amazon.com). No date in the document; file metadata shows it was created 16 September 2021; its title rule refers to SG categories
- Amazon Seller Central Help, "Product bundling policy" (G200442350), US page linked from both 2024 bundling announcements. Requires a Seller Central login, not publicly readable
- Amazon Seller Forums, "Updated Product Bundling policy for consumables", News_Amazon announcement, 14 October 2024
- Amazon Seller Forums, "A note on the recent Product Bundling Policy update", News_Amazon post, 3 December 2024
- Amazon Seller Forums, "Main Image and Packaging", seller question quoting the main image standard, 7 March 2023 (forum post, not policy)
- Amazon Seller Forums (Europe), "Multipack Rollout Has Replaced Single-Unit Images on Existing Listings", seller post of 29 May 2026 with a reply from Michelle_Amazon on 3 June 2026 (forum post, not policy)
- Walmart Marketplace Learn (US), "Product details policy", page dated 21 May 2026
- Walmart Marketplace Learn (US), "Product detail page: Image guidelines & requirements", page dated 12 May 2026
- Walmart Marketplace Learn (US), "Virtual bundles: Create a bundle", page dated 9 September 2026
- Walmart Marketplace Learn (US), "Add multiple items: Virtual packs", page dated 4 August 2026
- Walmart Marketplace Learn (Canada), "Setting Up Multi-Pack and Custom Items", page dated 1 November 2024
- Binyamin et al., "Make It Count: Text-to-Image Generation with an Accurate Number of Objects", arXiv 2406.10210, 14 June 2024