Published September 11, 2026

Amazon Image Policy Changes in 2025 and 2026: A Dated Changelog

Amazon's core product image spec did not change in 2025 or 2026. Pure white background at RGB 255, 255, 255, the product filling at least 85% of the frame, no text or logos on the main image: all the same. Four things did change around it. Amazon told sellers on 22 July 2026 to tag photorealistic AI-generated people in images and video with the IPTC keyword contains-synthetic-performer. Titles outside media categories drop to 75 characters from 27 July 2026, with a new 125-character Item Highlights field. Amazon Posts stopped accepting new posts in June 2025 and closed in July 2025. Amazon Inspire was confirmed no longer available in February 2025.

That is the honest list. Most pages titled "Amazon image requirements 2026" are last year's spec sheet with the year changed. At least two vendor blogs are circulating an August 2026 AI image ban that Amazon never announced. Below is a dated changelog with the Amazon page behind every row. It also carries a plain account of the claims we tried to verify and could not, plus the one entry that genuinely changes what you upload.

What actually changed in Amazon's image rules in 2025 and 2026?

Every change below traces to an Amazon-owned page or an Amazon statement, in date order. Of the seven entries, exactly one is a change to image policy. The rest are channel closures, a text rule, and a restatement. If a page you are reading lists more image rule changes than this, ask it for the Amazon URL behind each one.

Two dates need a caveat. Amazon's seller forum shows relative timestamps like "a month ago" on most threads, not absolute dates. So the 22 July 2026 date for the AI tagging notice comes from third-party trackers, not from Amazon's own page. A listing tools vendor published it as 22 July, and CNBC covered it on 23 July, which fits. The titles announcement is the exception: that thread carries a printed date of June 10, 2026.

The Posts date conflicts outright. A copy of Amazon's notice pasted into the seller forums says new Posts creation was disabled on June 23, 2025. Third-party trackers say 16 June. Amazon's own Ads page settles only the month: "New Post creation was disabled in June 2025." The 31 July 2025 shutdown is not in dispute. When a date matters for your planning, take the month from Amazon and treat the exact day as unsettled.

DateWhat changedDoes it affect your imagesWhere Amazon says it
February 2025Amazon Inspire, the shoppable photo and video feed, confirmed no longer availableNo rule change. One image channel closed.Amazon statement to press, reported by TechCrunch and Forbes
June 2025New Amazon Posts creation disabled (sources differ: 16 or 23 June)No. Listing images untouched.Amazon Ads, Posts product page
31 July 2025Amazon Posts discontinuedNo. Your Posts images lose their channel.Amazon Ads, Posts product page (month only); 31 July from the notice quoted in the seller forums
10 June 2026Titles outside media capped at 75 characters from 27 July, plus a new 125-character Item Highlights fieldIndirectly. Claims cut from titles need a new home.Seller forums, News_Amazon, June 10, 2026
22 July 2026Photorealistic AI-generated people in images and video must carry the IPTC keyword contains-synthetic-performerYes. The only image policy change on this list.Seller forums, News_Amazon announcement
27 July 2026Amazon starts applying AI title rewrites to titles still over the cap, phased, after a 14-day brand owner reviewNo.Seller forums, News_Amazon, June 10, 2026
2026, no date shownModerator post "Product Photography Standards: What's New in 2026" restates the existing specNo. Nothing in it is new.Seller forums, Dougal_Amazon

What did not change in Amazon's image spec?

The rules that get a main image rejected are the same ones as two years ago, and Amazon's own moderators restate them in the same words. Manny_Amazon writes "pure white background (RGB color values: 255, 255, 255)" and "The main image should show the product as 85% of the image". Adam_Amazon_ puts the same rule as "fill at least 85% of the frame" and adds "Don't include any text, logos, or extra graphics on this image". Same rule, two phrasings, no change in either.

File formats are unchanged too: JPEG, TIFF, PNG or non-animated GIF, with JPEG preferred. Nothing in 2025 or 2026 added a format or removed one. The pixel numbers are where nearly every spec sheet contradicts itself, because Amazon's hard requirement and its zoom preference are two different figures. A guide that prints one number and calls it the minimum has collapsed the two. Our post on Amazon's minimum image size sets them out separately, with the Amazon page behind each.

The clearest evidence that nothing changed is Amazon's own. A moderator posted a 2026 thread titled "Product Photography Standards: What's New in 2026". It restates the pure white background, the JPEG preference and the 85 to 100% fill, gives 1,000 pixels on the longest side as the minimum and 1,600 or more as optimal, and announces no change at all. Note that the 1,000 figure is Amazon's zoom threshold rather than its upload floor, which is 500, and moderators state it both ways. The top-voted reply is a seller asking: "is anything in this post actually a new policy announcement, or are the 2026 standards the same as for previous years?" Amazon never answered that with a new policy, because there was not one.

Does Amazon still allow AI-generated product images?

Yes, and the July 2026 action was a disclosure duty, not a prohibition. Amazon's announcement tells sellers to "use an IPTC-compatible metadata editor to add the keyword 'contains-synthetic-performer' to the dc:subject (XMP) field of your image or video files". Amazon then says it will "add an indicator to inform customers that the image includes AI-generated people". The rule covers video as well as stills. It exempts real people altered with AI, entertainment characters, non-photorealistic people and images with no people. A moderator has confirmed it is not retroactive: "You are not required to include this information retroactively on already-published content."

Most coverage skips the contradiction underneath this. The written rule for the main slot says photograph. But an Amazon moderator, answering a 2026 seller forum thread about photo-realistic 3D renders, said the main image policy does not explicitly address 3D renders or AI-generated images, and that the requirement does not specify the method of creation. He still recommended a real photo for the main slot to avoid suppression risk, and renders for secondary slots. The operative test is accurate representation, not how the pixels were made.

A+ Content already carries its own checkboxes for AI-generated and AI-generated people, so two disclosure paths now run in parallel: a checkbox in the A+ tool and a keyword inside the file. Sellers are still asking Amazon how the two interact. White background shots from an AI renderer need one extra check as well. No AI renderer guarantees an exact RGB value on a white background. Sample the finished file with a colour picker before it goes up.

Did Amazon ban three AI main-image patterns in August 2026?

No. This claim is circulating widely: that from 1 August 2026 Amazon banned AI-synthesised faces of real models, unrealistic body proportions, and non-standard AI backgrounds in main images. We went looking for the source. There is no Amazon announcement, no help page, no moderator statement, and no quote. It traces to a single vendor blog, rewarx.com, which markets its own AI image tool. That page carries no author, no publication date and no link to any Amazon policy. Its only cited statistic is an unlinked figure about shoppers. The same site has published at least two near-identical versions.

The positive evidence runs the other way. An Amazon forum thread asked precisely this question: what new rules on AI-generated product images should sellers watch in 2026. Moderator TaylorR_Amazon described only a disclosure obligation: "If your images contain photorealistic AI-generated people (full bodies, faces, hands, etc.), Amazon now requires you to disclose this." No ban, no August date, nothing about body proportions or backgrounds. Amazon's actual July 2026 move was the opposite in kind, a metadata rule that assumes AI imagery keeps being used.

Below is the honest ledger of what we could not confirm, so you can weigh it yourself. Two entries are dates invented by vendors. One is a gap in what Amazon has published. One is a page nobody outside Seller Central can read. None of this changes what you upload, but it changes how much weight you give the pages that assert it.

  • The 1 August 2026 ban on three main-image patterns. No Amazon source of any kind. One uncited vendor blog.
  • "Amazon requires labelling of all AI-generated content, strictly enforced from 15 August 2026." A different vendor blog, a different invented-looking date, again with no Amazon URL. The real rule covers photorealistic AI people in images and video, not all AI content and not text.
  • An effective date, grace period or enforcement deadline for the AI-people tag. None published anywhere. GeekSeller states plainly that the announcement does not specify when compliance becomes mandatory.
  • The exact current wording and last-updated date of Amazon's product image requirements page, G1881. It is not publicly readable and redirects to the seller sign-in. So every spec quoted in this post is sourced to Amazon moderators restating the rules on Amazon-owned forum pages.
  • The exact causal link from the New York synthetic performer law to Amazon's timing. CNBC and Forbes name it as the driver and Amazon has never said so. The statute's own penalties are readable and specific: $1,000 for a first violation and $5,000 for any subsequent one, on the New York Senate's page for General Business Law section 396-b.

Why does a 75-character title cap matter for your images?

Amazon's announcement of 10 June 2026 is blunt: "Starting July 27, 2026, titles in all categories except for media will need to be 75 characters or less including spaces." Alongside it comes a new searchable field: "Item Highlights provides an additional 125 characters for sharing materials or recommended use cases that help customers compare options." Moderator TaylorR_Amazon frames the arithmetic as a split rather than a cut: "Your total content capacity remains at 200 characters, it's just now split across two fields."

Two numbers are worth writing down. Brand owners get 14 days before implementation to review, modify and approve Amazon's AI-generated recommendations for titles and Item Highlights. And 27 July is a start, not a cliff: "After July 27, any titles still over 75 characters will be updated to the AI recommendation gradually. Your listings stay active throughout this process, and you can make changes to your titles and Item Highlights at any time."

The image consequence is ours to draw, not Amazon's. If your title used to carry pack size, material, fit or use case, a 75-character title cannot hold all of it. Item Highlights takes some. The rest has to be visible in the gallery, where text on images is allowed and the strict main-image rules do not apply. Sellers who have been treating gallery slots as decoration now have a concrete reason to treat them as the place claims live.

Are Amazon Posts and Inspire still available?

Neither is. Amazon confirmed in February 2025 that Inspire is "no longer available" in the shopping app. Inspire was the scrolling feed of influencer and brand photos and videos it launched in late 2022. Amazon's statement was that it regularly evaluates features "to better align with what customers tell us matters most, and as part of that, Inspire is no longer available". Reporting put the shutdown at 18 February 2025. If you ever built vertical lifestyle images specifically for that feed, they no longer have a destination.

Amazon Posts followed. Amazon Ads still hosts the product page, and it now reads as a tombstone: "New Post creation was disabled in June 2025 to allow Amazon Ads to focus on enhancing and developing other sponsored advertising creative solutions", and "Posts were discontinued in July 2025". The notice pasted into the seller forums gives the same reason in shorter form, that Amazon wanted to "focus on enhancing our sponsored creative solutions". Third-party trackers quote "declining impressions and the upcoming redesign of our Search and Detail pages".

That second reason is the thread nobody connects. A redesign of the search and detail pages is the same context as a shorter title and a new structured highlights field. Amazon has not drawn that line for you, and we are not claiming it as Amazon's reasoning. The direction is still consistent: fewer free-form surfaces, and more weight on the images inside the detail page itself. Your gallery, your A+ content and your ad creative are where lifestyle imagery now works.

Is Amazon enforcing image rules more strictly in 2026?

The evidence points the other way. Amazon's moderators spent mid-2026 messaging leniency, not pressure. The AI-people tag is not retroactive. The title cap has a 14-day brand owner review window. TaylorR_Amazon called 27 July "the kick-off date, not a hard deadline" and described "a gradual rollout, so changes will be phased in progressively, not enforced overnight". Listings stay active through the process. Not one of the 2026 announcements carries a penalty, a suspension threat or a deadline.

The open question is verification. Amazon says it will add a shopper-facing indicator when an image contains AI-generated people. It has not published how it checks whether your file carries the keyword, or how the A+ checkbox and the file metadata reconcile. Sellers are asking that in the replies to the announcement and it has not been answered. Tag your files anyway. The cost of adding a keyword is a minute, and it is the only disclosure step Amazon has actually specified.

What should you actually do before the end of 2026?

Here is the short list, in order of how much it can cost you. Nothing on it needs new photography. Anything a vendor blog adds beyond this list needs an Amazon URL before you act on it.

None of that is a rebuild, and the title audit is text work rather than image work. The main image is the one thing on the list you should not touch. Nothing announced in 2025 or 2026 changed what it has to look like, and the long-standing rules are enforced the way they always have been. Off-white backgrounds and text on the hero shot still cost you visibility, along with images that do not accurately represent what ships.

  • If any listing image or video shows a photorealistic AI-generated person, add contains-synthetic-performer to the dc:subject XMP field before you upload it.
  • Do not assume any tool wrote that keyword into the file for you, Picmato included. Add it yourself in an IPTC-compatible metadata editor, then read the file back before upload.
  • Do not re-tag published content. Amazon has confirmed the requirement is not retroactive.
  • Audit your titles now. Anything over 75 characters outside media will be rewritten by Amazon's recommendation, gradually, from 27 July 2026. Brand owners get 14 days to review and change it first.
  • Move the claims you lose from the title into gallery images, where text is allowed.
  • Leave your main image alone. Nothing in 2025 or 2026 changed the pure white, at least 85% fill, no-text spec.
  • Ignore any page that names an August 2026 AI ban date and cannot show you an Amazon URL.
  • Watch the News and Announcements section of the seller forums, where both 2026 changes appeared first, instead of yearly spec roundups.

Frequently asked questions

Did Amazon change its product image requirements in 2026?

Not the image spec. Pure white at RGB 255, 255, 255, a product filling at least 85% of the frame and no text or logos on the main image all carry over unchanged. One image rule was added: from July 2026, photorealistic AI-generated people in listing images and video must be tagged with the IPTC keyword contains-synthetic-performer. Everything else billed as a 2026 image change is a restatement of older rules.

Do I have to label AI-generated images on Amazon?

Only when the image or video shows a photorealistic AI-generated person. Amazon asks you to add the keyword contains-synthetic-performer to the dc:subject XMP field before uploading, and it says it will add an indicator for shoppers. You do not need it for real people altered with AI, for entertainment characters, for non-photorealistic people, or for images with no people. Published content does not need re-tagging.

Did Amazon ban AI-generated faces in main images on 1 August 2026?

No. There is no Amazon announcement, help page or moderator statement behind that claim. It traces to a single vendor blog with no citations, no author and no publication date, which markets its own AI image tool. In an Amazon forum thread asking exactly this question, a moderator described only a disclosure duty for photorealistic AI people, not a ban of any kind.

What is Amazon's 75-character title limit?

From 27 July 2026, titles in every category except media must be 75 characters or fewer including spaces. A new searchable Item Highlights field adds 125 characters, so total capacity stays at 200, split across two fields. Amazon applies AI-generated rewrites to titles still over the limit, gradually rather than overnight, and brand owners get 14 days to review and modify them first.

Can I still use Amazon Posts for my product images?

No. Amazon Ads states that new Post creation was disabled in June 2025 and that Posts were discontinued in July 2025. The Ads page gives only the month. 31 July is the day given in the notice pasted into the seller forums. Amazon Inspire, the shoppable photo and video feed, was confirmed no longer available in February 2025. Lifestyle images built for those feeds now only have a home in your gallery, your A+ content and your ads.

Ready to automate your creative workflow?

Start free with 100 credits a month. No design skills needed.